Electionarium has suspended operations as of April 5, 2021.  Thank you for your readership over the past few years.  We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

United States Elections

2020 Arizona Senate Race Preview

1 Mins read
2020 Arizona Senate Race Preview

This is the lowdown on the hotly-contested and expensive 2020 Arizona Senate race.

You will see this race high atop our list of potential US Senate flips during the 2020 cycle. We have been clear for some time that this is a prime opportunity for Democrats to take a seat away from the Republicans. If they do so behind Mark Kelly, they will have flipped both Arizona Senate seats in two years, defeating Martha McSally both times.

Arizona has generally been a friendly state to Republicans. Democrats have not carried it in generations at the presidential level, and Kyrsten Sinema is their first Democratic senator since the 1990s. It’s been almost 70 years since the state had two Democrats representing them in the Senate. That may change by January 2021 if the opinion polls are to be believed.

Is McSally going to hang on to her new seat, or will Mark Kelly flip Arizona’s other seat and help deliver a Senate majority?

The 2020 Arizona Senate Race in 2 Minutes

Official Candidates in 2020 Arizona Senate Race

This does not include any of the dozen write-in candidates. Please use caution when visiting outside links.

Martha McSally (R)US Senator, 2019-, former US Representative
Mark Kelly (D)Former astronaut, husband of former Rep. Gabby Giffords

How Did We Get Here?

Arizona has seen a lot of change in its Senate lineup over the last few years. Three years ago, they were represented by John McCain and Jeff Flake, two Republicans. However, McCain unfortunately passed away in 2018 and Flake retired in that election. Jon Kyl, McCain’s former fellow senator, was appointed to take his place.

Kyrsten Sinema, a Democratic congresswoman, defeated Martha McSally in the 2018 Senate race. Jon Kyl resigned shortly thereafter, and McSally was appointed to his seat. The 2020 Arizona Senate race is a special election to serve out the remainder of McCain’s term, which was voted upon in 2016. Whomever wins this race will have to run again in the 2022 midterms.


Now For Your Commentary

Font Resize

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.