We have put together a small but mighty list of British first ministers, which includes the leaders of the devolved parliaments and the prime minister of the United Kingdom. Want to know when the next British elections are taking place? Follow along with our British election calendar, which can be found here.

This list was last updated on 3 May 2020.

British First Ministers and Prime Minister

Below is a list of the first ministers of the United Kingdom who are currently in office.

United Kingdom
Boris Johnson (Con) since 24 July 2019
Northern Ireland
Arlene Foster (DUP) since 11 January 2020 – First Minister
Michelle O’Neill (SF) since 11 January 2020 – Deputy First Minister
Nicola Sturgeon (SNP) since 20 November 2014
Mark Drakeford (Lab) since 13 December 2018

Information on Elected British Governments

  • The last British general election took place on 12 December 2019. Under the Fixed-term Parliaments Act of 2011, the next general election is slated to take place no later than May 2024. The Conservative Party has a majority of 80 seats.
  • Northern Ireland’s Assembly exists with a power-sharing agreement in place. The Deputy First Minister, from the second-largest party, has the same power as the First Minister of the largest party. Therefore, all Northern Irish legislative governments are coalitions.
  • In the Scottish Parliament, there is a Scottish National Party minority government, with the SNP six short.
  • Wales has a Labour majority coalition government of two seats as they are supported by the Liberal Democrats and an independent.